The legality of cricketing improvisation

Interesting cricket story on the Cricinfo website regarding some of Kevin Pietersen’s tactics during his match winning century against New Zealand on Sunday. Apparently he hit a couple of sixes after changing his stance from right handed to left handed as bowler Scott Styris was approaching the crease.

Seems that people are getting a little bit pedantic in their criticisms – I think it’s an effective tactic if a batsman can pull it off. It displays great skill and unpredictability, and should be applauded instead of lambasted and considered against the spirit of the game.

Advertisements

5 Responses

  1. 100% agree. He is one of the only batsmen in the world that can do it….so why punish him? It’s his talent and is a wonderful cricket shot…leave him be I say!

  2. I say what’s the difference between a bowler bowling a yorker then a half-tracker then an out-swinger. Does he tell the batsman he’s going to do it? Of course he doesn’t. I saw KP make the shots and believe me, that’s one hell of a skill. And superb entertainment. Completely batted it left handed, switched his hands round and everything. Brilliant. Forget the nay-sayers. They know not of what they speak!!!

  3. Bob, there’s definitely a large element of unpredictability in a bowler’s technique and deliveries – if I was Shane Warne I wouldn’t want to be told that I had to tell Darryl Cullinan or one of my other bunnies to expect a wrong ‘un. I just watched a clip of Youtube and what Michael Holding says is rather typical of a former fast bowling great. Thing is, I doubt there’s a bowler in the world who could bowl both left and right handed with sufficient skill and control to make it worth the effort.

  4. if the bowler what to change side or arm he must tell the ump so sould the batter if he change sides

  5. Change the rule so that bowlers don’t have to nominate then. The one regarding being over or around the wicket may be a bit more problematic because the non-striker needs to know to move so as to not get in the way of the bowler’s follow through. As I said though, there’d hardly be a bowler skilled enough to bowl with both hands competently enough to make it worth it.

    Besides, with tennis, players don’t have to tell their opponent whether they’ll hit a backhand drop shot or forearm lob…it takes away from the lack of predictability.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: