The tourism ambassador we had to have??

I chuckled a little bit when I read that Paul Keating is considered a frontrunner to head a new “G’day UK” campaign to attract tourism from the “motherland”. Political pros and cons aside, there are many other high profile Australians that I think would have a more prominent reputation in England than the former PM who dared to touch the Queen 15 years ago.

The News Limited article mentions some of them, but add to that sporting stars plying their trade in the UK such as Harry Kewell, Lucas Neill, Brett Emerton or Mark Viduka, or “old school” expats such as Clive James, and I don’t think there’s any real need for Keating to have a prominent role. The similarly themed “G’day USA” events feature Aussies with a prominent link to US culture, so it would make sense for the UK variation to be similar.

2 Responses

  1. thanks for your support on m y blog, unfortunately there is no more from me, all the best for the future blogging

  2. Yeah, I noticed that – I was very surprised when I clikced on the URL in my address bar and saw that it was gone. I don’t want to be intrusive, but I hope there’s nothing sinister behind it.

Leave a Reply

