Nearly 50% of young adults still live with parents

Research from the Australian Bureau of Statistics has revealed that:

  • About 49% of males and 45% of females aged between 18 and 24 were living with their parents
  • About 14% of people aged between 25 to 34 have never left home.

I’m one of the 14%. I don’t live here at home with my family because of the convenience – I help pay the bills, do my bit to keep the house and property tidy, and genuinely appreciate the fact that I have a supporting family that I can rely on for help, and vice versa. I do know that I will leave home sooner or later (Genesis 2:24 dictates that one day I will indeed leave my mother and father in order to be married), but while I’m here, I’ll certainly be grateful for what I have, and do more than mere words to show that.

If you happen to be in one of these groups, feel free to drop a line and comment on why you are yet to leave the nest, or if you’ve already moved out, when and why you did so.

Source: News Limited

Leave a Reply

