Sin on Facebook

During my brief browsing through Facebook today (where I have a profile, and am happy to accept new friends – click here to see my profile and please let me know that you read my blog so I know why I’m accepting people I don’t know), I came across a page about sin. It looks as if it’s connected and based on the sin sermon from Mark Driscoll’s Doctrine series at Mars Hill Church (I can’t find anything that directly indicates who created the page though.

Now I think that such a tool on a site like Facebook can be a reasonable way of acknowledging that we have fallen short of the glory of God, but the fact that it’s been designed as a fan page (as opposed to a group, if you’re familiar with the concept of Facebook) is…well…let’s just say that joining the group will put a message on your page saying that you have become a fan of Sin (that you can remove, but nevertheless, that’s what it does). Just doesn’t comply with the way in which Christians should respond to sin.

I do like the tag line that they’ve created – “Destroying you and your family since Genesis 3”.

3 Responses

  1. sin is everywhere

  2. Dude, come on. We are fans of sin. We just are. Christian or not. Saying that you are a fan of sin indicates your understanding that while you walk with God and through the sanctification process, you still like sin. The Spirit of God that lives in believers doesn’t, but we as people, in fact, do like it.

    This page isn’t glorifying sin, it’s the admission that we are morally depraved people and that even after we are redeemed, we still sin, and we do it because we like it. If we didn’t like it, we wouldn’t do it.

    Cheers.

  3. Point noted, Dustin, and I don’t disagree. I just think that the non-believer that may come across this may be left acratching their head, that’s all – they think that we’re all about fleeing sin and denouncing it, and to see it as a page where they can become “a fan” could just as easily fuel the typical hypocrisy argument that we face.

    When I read Romans 7 and Paul’s struggle with sin, I don’t see him saying that he is a fan of what his sinful nature is causing him to do. He wants to do what’s right, not do what’s wrong and rebellious against God. In my reasoning, to have a conscious desire to rebel against God is to be a fan of sin, but we as Christians should not have a conscious desire to sin, but to live in holiness.

    I do appreciate, and agree with, your comment, but I still think the idea would have worked better in a Facebook group format as opposed to a page that is designed for followers of an entity (which some conservatives woulde probably argue is bordering on idolatry – a stance which I think is a bit inflexible).

Leave a Reply

