SOAP: Philippians 2:1-11

SCRIPTURE: Philippians 2:1-11

OBSERVATION: This passage is a great example of 2 things:

  • The embodiment and outworking of love between those who claim Christ as their Lord, that being an attitude of selflessness, humility and unity. It’s such a contrast from the typical “me first” mentaality of the world we live in.
  • The embodiment of who Jesus is. It’s a snapshot of the Gospel, telling us who Jesus is and why people should acknowledge who he is.

APPLICATION: Since this is a rather practical passage, it encourages and challenges me to consider how I interact with people at church, whether I seek to elevate their needs above my own (be it tangibly in their presence, praying for them, etc.) Also, I know that I hold statements of faith such as verses 6-11 as truth, but do I seek to make that truth known to those who don’t believe it? I need wisdom to know how to do so, and the boldness to actually put such actions into practice.

PRAYER: I pray that all believers would cast aside the “me first” mentality and a dopt a “you first” mentality as they seek to not only live as Christ did, but speak the truth of Christ to all they meet.

Leave a Reply

